You can check FAQ tab (frequently asked questions) for common questions or you can contact us directly through librarian below.
Article Processing Charge (APC): A fee paid by the author (or their institution) to the publisher to make an article free to read.
Author’s Accepted Manuscript (AAM)/post-print: The final version of the article as accepted for publication, with changes made after peer review, but without any publisher formatting or typesetting.
CC BY: A Creative Commons attribution (CC BY) licence is the most accommodating of the Creative Commons licences. It allows users to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator. The license allows for commercial use.
Creative Commons Licences: Licences which can be used in open access publishing to help authors retain copyright while allowing others to copy, distribute, and make use of their work. There are several different Creative Commons licences, which allow different types of re-use. See the Creative Commons website
DOI - Digital Object Identifier - A unique identifier for an online document, used by most online journal publishers. As the DOI is unique to the publication, linking to an online document by its DOI provides more stable linking than simply referring to it by its URL.
Embargo period: Some publishers permit green open access but only after an embargo period. Research funder Open Access policies often state maximum embargo periods.
Gold Open Access: the type of open access where the final published version of an article/conference proceeding is made immediately available by the publisher to download, redistribute, and reuse from the date of publication.
Green Open Access: the type of open access where the Author Accepted version of an article/conference proceeding is made available, usually via an institutional repository such as Goldsmiths Research Online, either immediately on publication or after an embargo period.
Hybrid journal: Journal where subscriptions are still required for access to most of the content, but offer an option to make individual articles available as Open Access after payment of an additional fee by authors, their institutions or research funders.
Institutional repository: Online digital archive of an institution’s research publications.
Metadata: Data that describes other data. For items in open access repositories, this usually consists of a full bibliographic reference, abstract, keywords, and similar information.
ORCID: Open Researcher and Contributor ID, a unique identifying number that distinguishes academics (and their work) from other researchers with a similar or identical name.
Pre-Print/submitted version: The version of a research output that is of sufficient quality to be submitted for publication but has not been through peer-review.
Publication date: The earliest date on which the final version of an output is publicly available. This includes early online release so may be earlier than the date of print publication.
Publisher Agreement: When you publish your paper you will probably sign a 'publisher agreement’. This document states your rights as an author, so it is always worthwhile keeping a copy. On the publisher agreement it should state whether you can make your article available on our institutional repository.
Publishers PDF/Version of Record (VoR): The final version of a research output that has been made available by a publisher. This version will have been copy-edited and typeset by the publisher and includes their logos and formatting.
Read & Publish Agreement: Also known as a transformative agreement, this is a subscription agreement with a publisher that also includes an amount of Gold Open Access for the institution’s authors.
Self-archiving: The process by which an academic author deposits the metadata (bibliographic reference, abstract, etc.) and an electronic full text for one or more of his/her publications in an Open Access repository (like Goldsmiths Research Online).
Subject Repository: A collection of research outputs from researchers in a specific discipline. An example is Europe PCM, which is a repository of life sciences research. The researchers are based at a variety of universities and institutions.
Call Us: 
Email Us: