What is eResearch@Ozyegin?
- eResearch@Ozyegin is an institutional open-access repository. It aims to collect and make Ozyegin University’s scientific output accessible online in order to increase the impact and the visibility of the institution.
What to find in eResearch@Ozyegin?
- eResearch@Ozyegin covers Özyeğin Üniversity members’ scientific outputs such as article, conference proceeding, book, book chapter, patent as well as their reports, lectures, presentations.
Do I have to deposit my publications open Access in the archive?
- As long as it doesn’t breach any copyright or license aggrements, yes you must put them as open Access
What are the benefits of eResearch@Ozyegin to a researcher?
- It helps to disseminate the research and to increase its global value.
- It creates a faster and a stronger communication among researchers.
- It guarantees a permanent access to its content.
- It strenghtens the prestige of the institution and the researcher.
- It aims the access of the researches via search engines.
- It provides access for researchers to high quality researches.
Who can submit at eResearch@Ozyegin?
- Ozyegin members can submit their scientific output to eResearch@Ozyegin by their network username and password.
What are the digital formats recommended for eResearch@Ozyegin?
- Recommended format for the sustainability of the repository is PDF. Word, excel, ppt, jpeg files can also easily be converded to PDF to be archived.
Are all of the publications submitted at eResearch@Ozyegin accessible to the public?
The accessibility of the publication can vary as follows depending on authors’ permission, the funders’ and the publishers’ policy:
- Open Access: the publication is open to Access. (accessible to public).
- Optional Access/restricted access: the document is not open access but it can directly be requested through the “request copy” button from the author of the publication. It is the author’s decision to share it or not.
- Open Access with embargo: The publication is not accessible for a limited time; it will be open access once this period ends. Within this period, the publication can directly be requested through the “request copy” button from the author. It is the author’s decision to share it or not.
Is my entry submitted to the eResearch@Ozyegin verified, moderated?
- Yes, they are verified and moderated. Author’s entry is taken into account. Once the submission is completed, the entry falls into the editor pool. The editor checks its metadata, adds any necessary additional information, and determines the accesibility of the publication in terms of copyrights. Accordingly, the editor gets in touch with the author if necessary or approves the submission.
Which version of my publication shall I deposit at eResearch@Ozyegin?
Postprint and especially “postprint/publisher version” are the prefered version for institutional repositories. Still, the deposited version is determined according to publisher policy. A publication may have three versions available:
- Preprint version: submitted text, version of the paper before peer review.
- Postprint author version: accepted publication, version of the paper after peer-review, with revisions having been made.
- Publisher version: published version as it is in the publication.
When can I deposit my work?
- Once you submitted a work to a publisher or an conference organizator, you can deposit it at eResearch@Ozyegin. This would be preprint of the publication. If the publisher allows open access deposit of the post-print version, the author can update the submission. The author can do this by clicking on “create version of this item” link on the same publication record in the archive.
Can I withdraw my document from the repository?
- Only not completed submissions can be deleted. In order to ensure the stability of the institutional repository, it is not possible to delete the entire submission without getting in touch with eResearch@Ozyegin team once the item is deposited. However, files linked to a publication record can be removed from the repository or Access can be restricted if necessary.
What is copyright?
- Copyright is a form of protection for the intellectual works to the authors. There is no need to register for copyright. An author automatically owns copyright protection as soon as she/he creates and expresses his original work. Intellectual property rights are protected for a lenght of time. (70 years for literary and artictic works).
What is transfer of rights?
- The authors or their heirs may transfer their rights mutually or non-mutually, permanently or temporarily. The contracts for financial claims between authors and publishers should be written. In the contracts authors sign with the publishers, it should be noted that the authors do not transfer their complete rights by keeping rights to disseminate, re-use and share their own publication with no restriction for the education and research purposes.
If I’ve already signed a contract with the publisher, can I re-negotiate certain clauses to be able to deposit my publication in eResearch@Ozyegin?
- Yes! It is always possible to negotiate the clauses of the contract with the publisher. Furthermore, publishers may receive multiple requests of this sort from authors, so they can adopt a permissive policy under which authors don’t need their agreement to self-archive works. You can get support from the eResearch@Ozyegin team.
Can I deposite my conference papers online?
- Yes but if there is license aggreement between you and the publisher or the conference organizator, the conditions of this aggrement should be considered.
Can I still own the author rights of my work although it’s been deposited in eResearch@Ozyegin?
- Yes, you continue to own the copyright of your work even if the work is deposited in eResearch@Ozyegin.
Who is responsible for making sure a document deposited in eResearch@Ozyegin does not breach copyright of co-author/s?
- Works with full text are deposited are entirely at the risk of the submitter (and any co-authors). Therefore, it is the submitter’s responsbility to check that deposited work does not breach any copyright policy of the publisher or any other party. So, the submitter guarantees that the permission needed to distribute the work on the internet have been obtained. However, archive editors will support the submitter by re-checking necessary permissions to make the work open access.
How can I check that I do not breach any copyright by adding my publications in eResearch@Ozyegin?
Many publishers (77% of the publishers and %90 of the journals) allow open access deposit of the publications in institutional repositories. However, some publishers may allow this under special conditions (such as embargo periods or acknowledgement) or only allow depositing a particular version of the work.
Please follow the steps below for the work you publish:
- First, check the contract you’ve signed with the publisher.
- Check the SHERPA/RoMEO web site. This is a database which provides access to publisher policies on self-archiving. It is searchable by ISSN, title or publisher. You should read the policy items carefully, publishers’ special conditions and follow it.
- If you cannot access publisher’s self-archicving policy on SHERPA/RoMEO site, you should communicate with the publisher directly.
I’ve contacted my publisher about their self-archiving policy but I didn’t get a respond. What can I do?
- Upload your document restrictedly to eResearch@Ozyegin. Sharing in this way is totally legal. In that case, your publication will not be open access but anybody would like to read full text of your publication, will be able ask the paper directly from you by using “request copy” button.
Please inform eResearch@Ozyegin team about this issue.
How do I keep abreast about the new titles added in eResearch@Ozyegin?
- In order to keep abreast about the new titles added in eResearch@Ozyegin, just log in and create alerts by defining the collections you are interested in to your account.
Can I still access a document marked with a closed padlock? How do I request a copy?
- This is an access-restricted publication. Clicking on the padlock icon, fill the pop up form and submit it to request the work directly from the author. It is the author’s decision to share it or not.
May 21, 2021
