Skip to Main Content

Humanities & Social Sciences: Citing and Referencing

Why citing is important?

It's important to cite sources you used in your research for several reasons:

  • To show your reader you've done proper research by listing sources you used to get your information
  • To be a responsible scholar by giving credit to other researchers and acknowledging their ideas
  • To avoid plagiarism by quoting words and ideas used by other authors
  • To allow your reader to track down the sources you used by citing them accurately in your paper by way of footnotes, a bibliography or reference list

Retrieved from <https://libguides.mit.edu/c.php?g=176032&p=1159439#plagiarism>

Manage Your References

Citation management software can help you save time by gathering your citations in one spot and helping you format the information correctly in your paper.

We subscribe bibliographic software tool EndNote. Also Ozu Library provides you with free access to the bibliographic software tool Mendeley.

You can find these software under the Databases from the Library website.

EndNote

EndNote is a software that allows you to keep, search, import and share your references. It also helps you to import and organize citations and references with different citation styles.

See what EndNote can do

Write Faster

Insert in-text citations while simultaneously creating a bibliography with the Cite While You Write feature in Microsoft® Word.

Research Better

Use tools that find PDFs for you throughout your search process. Then, easily read, review, annotate and search PDFs in your library.

Stay Organized

Create rules to automatically organize references as you work. And, use the new Tabs feature for easier multitasking.

Collaborate Easier

Easily collaborate across geographic boundaries. Share some or all of your library and set permissions for access.

Get Published

Match your paper with relevant, reputable journals using Manuscript Matcher.

Work From Anywhere

Access your research anytime, anywhere from the cloud. Move seamlessly between online and the desktop and iPad applications.

How to use EndNote 20 in seven minutes: Windows

How to use EndNote 20 in seven minutes: macOS

Citation: A Brief Introduction

Credits

  • Anne Burke: Project Lead, Script, Storyboards
  • Daria Dorafshar: Graphics and Animation
  • Kyle Langdon: Narration
  • Andreas Orphanides: Writing, Editing, Technical Infrastructure
  • Kim Duckett: Team Lead

Mendeley

     What is Mendeley Reference Manager?

     Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network   that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others   online, and discover the latest research. 

OZU Library has a subscription to Mendeley Institutional Edition (MIE) which all OZU staff and students are eligble for. Mendeley Institutional Edition is a premium version of the free version of Mendeley and it provides users with more storage space and more opportunity to collaborate with other Mendeley users.

If you want to be part of OZU MIE please contact with us via library@ozyegin.edu.tr

If you need further information about Mendeley please click here.

With Mendeley Reference Manager you can:

Cite as you write

Generate citations and bibliographies in a whole range of journal styles with just a few clicks. For your convenience, we've made sure Mendeley's Citation Plugin is compatible with Word (including Word for Mac) and LibreOffice.

 

 

 

 

Annotate as you read

Easily add your thoughts on documents in your own library, even from mobile devices. For ease of collaboration, you can also share documents with groups of colleagues and annotate them together.

 

 

 

 

Import references easily

Import papers and other documents from your desktop, your existing libraries or websites quickly and easily. Mendeley automatically captures author, title and publisher information.

 

 

 

 

Access your library anywhere

Securely access Mendeley on any computer through the desktop client, web browser, or using your mobile app. Your library is backed up in the cloud when you sync and is always available to you.