Skip to Main Content

SCOLA: Modern Languages

Modern Languages

Özyeğin University attaches great importance to foreign language education. To this end, the university offers a rich variety of foreign language courses including German, Arabic, Chinese, French, Spanish, Italian, Russian and Turkish for Foreigners , and carefully evaluates the effectiveness of each course in the pursuit of contributing to the future careers and achievements of its students.

About Modern Languages Collection

These books are in the collection with purple labels. Both reading and learning resources exist together. There is only one shelf for each language. The language name is written on the shelf.

To find modern languages titles, use the keyword subject headings below in the library catalogue.

You can also click on the subject headings below:

   Italian Language 
   Italian language - Readers
   Italian language - Study and teaching - Foreign speakers
   Italian language - Dictionaries
   
   German Language  
   German language - Readers 
   German language - Study and teaching - Foreign speakers
   German language - Dictionaries
   French Language  
   French language - Readers
   French language - Study and teaching - Foreign speakers
   French language - Dictionaries
   Spanish Language  
   Spanish language - Readers
   Spanish language - Study and teaching - Foreign speakers
   Spanish language - Dictionaries
   Turkish Language  
   Turkish language - Readers
   Turkish language - Study and teaching - Foreign speakers
   Turkish language - Dictionaries
   
   Russian Language  
   Russian language - Readers
   Russian language - Study and teaching - Foreign speakers
   Russian language - Dictionaries
   
   Chinese Language  
   Chinese language - Readers
   Chinese language - Study and teaching - Foreign speakers
   Chinese language - Dictionaries
   
   Arabic Language  
   Arabic language - Readers
   Arabic language - Study and teaching - Foreign speakers
   Arabic language - Dictionaries

Newspapers

  • Corriere della Sera An Italian daily newspaper published in Milan.
  • La Gazzetta dello Sport An Italian daily newspaper dedicated to coverage of various sports.
  • Il Messaggero is an Italian newspaper based in Rome.
  • La Nazione La Nazione is one of the oldest regional newspapers in Italy, and was established on 8 July 1859. The paper is based in Florence.
  • La Repubblica is an Italian daily general-interest newspaper. It was founded in 1976 in Rome.
  • Il Sole 24 Ore is an Italian national daily business newspaper owned by Confindustria, the Italian employers' federation.
  • L Stampa is an Italian daily newspaper published in Turin, Italy. It is distributed in Italy and other European nations. It is one of the oldest newspapers in Italy.

  • Le Figaro  is a French daily morning newspaper founded in 1826 and published in Paris. It is the oldest national daily in France.
  • Le Monde is a French daily afternoon newspaper.
  • L'Équipe is a French nationwide daily newspaper devoted to sport.
  • Les Echos  is the first daily French financial newspaper.
  • La Croix is a daily French general-interest Roman Catholic newspaper. It is published in Paris.

  • El País is a Spanish-language daily newspaper in Spain. El País is based in the capital city of Madrid.
  • El Mundo  formally El Mundo del Siglo Veintiuno is the second largest printed daily newspaper in Spain.
  • As is a Spanish daily sports newspaper that concentrates particularly on football.
  • Marca is a Spanish national daily sport newspaper. The newspaper focuses primarily on football, in particular the day-to-day activities of Real Madrid, FC Barcelona and Atlético Madrid.
  • La Vanguardia is a Spanish daily newspaper, founded in 1881. It has its headquarters in Barcelona and is Catalonia's leading newspaper.
  • La Voz de Galicia  is a Spanish daily newspaper. La Voz is highest circulation newspaper in Galicia and the eighth-highest circulation general-interest daily newspaper in Spain.

  • Izvestiya (Известия) is a daily broadsheet newspaper in Russia. It was a newspaper of record in the Soviet Union from 1917 until the dissolution of the USSR in 1991.
  • Kommersant (Коммерсантъ) is a nationally distributed daily newspaper published in Russia mostly devoted to politics and business. It is a leading liberal business broadsheet.
  • Komsomolskaya Pravda (Комсомольская правда)  is a daily Russian tabloid newspaper, founded on 13 March 1925.
  • Moskovskaya Pravda (Московская правда) is a daily morning newspaper of Russia, and formerly of the Soviet Union.
  • Moskovsky Komsomolets (Московский комсомолец)  is a Moscow-based daily newspaper, covering general news. Founded in 1919, it is famed for its topical reporting on Russian politics and society.

  • Hürriyet is one of the major Turkish newspapers, founded in 1948. Hürriyet has a mainstream, liberal and conservative outlook.
  • Sabah is a Turkish daily newspaper.
  • Posta is a mass market Turkish daily newspaper, with the second highest circulation in Turkey.
  • Sözcü is a popular Turkish daily newspaper.
  • Habertürk abbreviated as HT, was a high-circulation Turkish newspaper. It was established on March 1, 2009, drawing on the brand of Ciner's Habertürk TV.
  • Cumhuriyet is the oldest up-market Turkish daily newspaper. It has been described as "the most important independent public interest newspaper in contemporary Turkey"
  • Milliyet is a Turkish daily newspaper published in Istanbul, Turkey.
  • Fanatik is a Turkish daily-published and online sports newspaper.

  • Al-Madina Press is an Arabic language newspaper published in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. The paper is one of the oldest newspapers published in the country.
  • Al Awsat also Alwasat, is an Arabic-language daily newspaper in Manama, Bahrain. Al-Wasat was generally regarded as the only independent newspaper in Bahrain. The newspaper ran for 15 years, during which is provided reporting unique to Bahrain.
  • Al Bilad is an Arabic daily newspaper published in Bahrain.
  • Al-Eqtisadiah (Riyadh) is a Saudi daily newspaper, published by Saudi Research and Publishing Company.

  • Al-Jazirah is a daily Arabic newspaper published in Saudi Arabia. Its sister newspaper is Al Masaiya, is the only afternoon newspaper in the country with limited influence and readership.

Web Resources

  • BBC Languages - German Lessons, quizzes, radio, and tv.
  • Germanistik im Netz A virtual library for German studies out of the Goethe University Frankfurt.
  • German Studies Libguides Scholarly resources in German Studies, including all German-speaking countries. The resources organized here are all freely available and have undergone a selection and evaluation process.
  • ThoughtCo. - Learning & Teaching Italian Teachers and students can use these comprehensive Italian language guides to improve reading, writing, and comprehension skills for beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels.
  • MemRise Italian courses Watch and learn real conversational language from native speakers. Get a personalised learning experience that gives you just the right level of challenge to keep you motivated.

  • Lexico Learn Spanish with this free online website. Includes an Oxford English and Spanish Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Spanish to English Translator
  • MemRise Spanish courses Watch and learn real conversational language from native speakers. Get a personalised learning experience that gives you just the right level of challenge to keep you motivated.
  • ThoughtCo. - Learning & Teaching Spanish Teachers and students can use these comprehensive Spanish language guides to improve reading, writing, and comprehension skills for beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels.

  • Central and Eastern European Online Library  Provider of academic e-journals and e-books in the Humanities and Social Sciences from and about Central and Eastern Europe. Many items are open access.
  • The Russian State Library digital collection  Provides bibliographic records on all types of items. You can search through the whole catalogue or limit your search to the following sub-catalogues for a particular category of items.
  • UCL SSEES Library Guides to Resources  Guides to resources on individual countries / regions in Central and Eastern Europe and Russia. Includes a guide to resources on the crisis in Ukraine; guide to resources on LGBTQ in Eastern Europe, and others.
  • UTREES: University Theses in Russian, Soviet and East European Studies 1907--  Full texts of Masters and PhD theses available through UTREES project and the British library.
  • Moshkov's Library  gives access to a very large numbers of Russian literary texts, humor, poetry, etc. from a wide range of authors. Translations are also available. Site is in Russian, all encodings are available. Established in 1994, Moshkov's Library is one of the oldest digital libraries on the web.
  • Fundamental Digital Library: Russian Literature and Folklore (FEB-web)  is a full-text digital resource. FEB-web accumulates information in text, audio, visual, and other forms on 11th-20th-century Russian literature, Russian folklore, and the history of Russian literary scholarship and folklore studies.
  • Edraak  Arabic language online education with resources for school learners and teachers.
  • Abser Organisation  Many lesson for a variety of subjects in Arabic.

  • Learning with Angela  Another great site with many resources