Welcome to the OZU Library Citation Style Guide.This guide is designed to direct you to authoritative online and print resources that will help you format your references. There are many different citation styles. In this guide you will find information about the two citation styles most widely used in the International Relations APA and Chicago.
It's important to show what sources you use in your research. If you aren't sure what style you need to use, consult your class syllabus or verify with your instructor.
Please feel free to contact the library if you would like additional help.
APA Style provides a foundation for effective scholarly communication because it helps writers present their ideas in a clear, precise, and inclusive manner.
A reference list entry generally has four elements: the author, date, title, and source. Each element answers a question:
GENERAL RESOURCES:
Plenty of resources, including Quick Answers about reference and formatting questions. Also links to the APA blog which features timely posts and explanations for frequently asked questions.
A free online tutorial for those who are new to APA style.
From the APA website.
Learn more about references and citations for specific types of resources:
FORMATTING / STYLE:
General APA guidelines including how to format your header and first page.
IN-TEXT CITATIONS:
Explains the basics of citing within your text. Includes examples for multiple authors and different types of sources.
REFERENCES:
Explains basic formatting rules for your references page. Then, once you are ready to create a reference entry for a source, use the menu on the left of the screen to select the right type of source (Articles in Periodicals, Books, Electronic Sources, Other Print or Non-Print Sources). This menu also includes helpful information about creating tables, PowerPoint presentations, and more.
Reference list examples from UMUC.
NorQuest College Library has developed a citation style for personal communication with Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers.
Adapted from "Citation Guides: APA Style?" by Butler University. Retrieved from https://libguides.butler.edu/c.php?g=34051&p=216828
Chicago citation style was created by the University of Chicago. Chicago-style source citations come in two varieties: (1) notes and bibliography and (2) author-date.
1. Notes and Bibliography: Sample Citations
2. Author-Date: Sample Citations
If you already know which system to use, follow one of the links above to see sample citations for a variety of common sources. If you are unsure about which system to use, read on.
Notes and Bibliography or Author-Date?
The notes and bibliography system is preferred by many working in the humanities—including literature, history, and the arts. In this system, sources are cited in numbered footnotes or endnotes. Each note corresponds to a raised (superscript) number in the text. Sources are also usually listed in a separate bibliography. The notes and bibliography system can accommodate a wide variety of sources, including unusual ones that don’t fit neatly into the author-date system.
The author-date system is more common in the sciences and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and year of publication. Each in-text citation matches up with an entry in a reference list, where full bibliographic information is provided.
Aside from the use of numbered notes versus parenthetical references in the text, the two systems share a similar style. Follow the links at the top of this page to see examples of some of the more common source types cited in both systems.
Most authors choose the system used by others in their field or required by their publisher. Students who are unsure of which system to use will find more information here.
For CMOS 17 contents please click here
Provides information on notes and bibliography (NB) in Chicago Style. Created by OWL at Purdue University.
Created by the Chicago Manual of Style. Gives examples of how to cite commonly used formats in Chicago Style.
Basic online Turabian citations from the University of Chicago
Video was created by the Laurier Library.