LibGuides: International Relations: Performance Evaluation

Evaluating Scholarly Publications

Citation databases are databases that have been developed for evaluating publications. The citation databases enable you to count citations and check, for example, which articles or journals are the most cited ones.

Note: None of the citation databases cover all publications. The coverage of different disciplines also varies greatly.

Note: Citation analysis and bibliometric indicators are based on citations and the amount of them. Citing in itself, however, is not a quality criterion and there can be many reasons for the citing (negative citations, ethnocentricity, self-citation).

Performance Evaluation Tools

Incites
Incites is a research evaluation tool that allows you to evaluate performance of researchers or institutions. This tool serves to compare and analyze publications within the content of Web Of Science citation index, regarding author, institution, geographical area, research area and fund provider. Incites’ account is accessed via a username and a password. Within Incites’ content, there is also a journal evaluation tool
Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports is a tool to evaluate journal impacts according to various categories. This tool which offers information about trending journals performs within Web of Science citation index content.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
SCImago Journal & Country Rank provides access to citation indicators of the sources within the content Scopus citation index. These indicators can be provided according to countries too. This tool is open-accessed and doesn’t require subscription.
SciVal
SciVal helps you assess individual and institutional performance according to parameters including author, title, institution, geographical area, research area etc. It analyzes publications within Scopus citation index content and evaluate them regarding Overview, Benchmarking, Collaboration ve Trend modules. Scival account is accessed via a username and a password. There is also a journal evaluation tool in order to evaluate sources within the content of Scopus.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary search engine and also a citation database for scientifc and scholarly literature in all areas of study. For many articles WoS contains the references given by the authors, as well as the citations of that particular article by other authors. That way you can easily find related articles and you can also find information about the impact an article has (made).